Club - Antwerp: the Club Facts

Saturday night Club Brugge will play their first official game of the new season and it's an important one. Club plays the 65th final of the Belgian Cup against Royal Antwerp FC. On August 1 20:30 both teams will face each other in the King Baudouin Stadium, but without fans. Learn more with our Club Facts.


The blue and black played seven games to prepare for the cup final. Club won against Oud-Heverlee Leuven (4-1), KV Mechelen (6-0), KMSK Deinze (1), Lille OSC (2-0) and Knokke FC (5-0). The game against Beerschot VA ended in a 1-1 draw and Club lost against KAA Gent (2-3). Siebe Schrijvers and the 18-year-old Youssouph Badji are the top scorers with four goals each.


Just like Club, Antwerp played their friendlies at home. The Great Old lost against KAS Eupen (0-1), Roda JC (1-3) and Olympique Lyon (2-3). The game against FC Utrecht ended in a goalless draw. Richie De Laet, Manuel Benson, Jonathan Bolingi, Martin Hongla and Aurélio Buta each scored one goal.


Club will play its 19th cup final - a Belgian record. Standard played 17 so far. Club Brugge lifted the cup the most times: 11 times so far, two more than Anderlecht. In the history of the club, Club Brugge won the Belgian Cup twice as the newly crowned champions. That happend in 1977 and 1996. If Club beats Antwerp, it would be a third double and thus Club would equal the current record of Anderlecht who won the double in 1965, 1972 and 1994. 


In the last six Croky Cup editions, Club reached the final three times. Club won the 2015 final against Anderlecht (2-1), but lost the 2016 final against Standard (1-2). For Ruud Vormer this third cup final will be his 270th official match for Club Brugge. Charles De Ketelaere can play his 25th match for the blue and black.

The opponent

It's the first time both teams meet in a final. Neither team have suspended players, but summer signings are not eligible to play. Antwerp will have to do without Nill De Pauw (Atromitos), Jean Butez and Frank Boya (Excel Mouscron) and Birger Verstraete (on loan from FC Köln). Antwepr saw a number of players leave the club: Baby, Arslanagic, Opare, Bolat, Teunckens, Defour, Yatabaré, Mirallas, Hoedt and Gano. Sander Coopman is sidelined with an injury. In 2017 he won the cup on penalties with Zulte Waregem after a spectacular 3-3 against KV Oostende.


For Antwerp it will be their fourth cup final. They won two of their previous three. The last one dates back to 1992, when they beat KV Mechelen at Club's Olympia Stadium.


Former Club Brugge player and coach Ivan Leko is at the helm of Antwerp since this summer. The Croatian played 130 games for Club and scored 23 goals. As the coach of Club Brugge he won the title in 2018. Afterwards he joined Al-Ain FC in the summer of 2019, but that adventure ended in December. On May 20 he was announced as the new coach of Antwerp, after the departure of Laslo Bolöni.

Related articles