Monday 14 May 2018 22:30

Club plunders Player of the Year Awards

One day after the superb title celebration, Club had another very good reason to crack open a bottle of champagne. Not a title this time, but a handful of other coronations. Club was awarded the trophee for the Rookie of the Year (Wesley Moraes), Trainer of the Year (Ivan Leko), Foundation of the Year and Player of the Year (Hans Vanaken). The same night Anthony Limbombe won the 2018 Ebony Shoe Award. Another triumphical night for the Blues!

Last night the Gala for the Player of the Year and the Ebony Shoe Award was held in Brussels. Club Brugge returned with almost all the awards.


The evening started off great when Wesley Moraes was named Rookie of the Year over Samuel Kalu and Hassana Bandé. Ivan Leko was awarded Trainer of the Year for his incredible season. Sá Pinto and Philippe Clement came in second and third.

But Club were not only honored for what they achieved on the pitch. The Club Brugge Foundation finished with Gent in a joint first place for the best community work.


The most important price of the evening was of course the award for Player of the Year. The contenders for that price were Golden Boot winner Ruud Vormer and Hans Vanaken. The two have been magnificent this season with plenty of goals and assists. Eventually it was Hans Vanaken with the most votes behind his name. Ruud Vormer was second, Standard player Edmilson third, and Anthony Limbombe was fourth.


Later that night, at the Gala for the Ebony Shoe Award, Anthony Limbombe was voted the best player in the Belgian league of African origin.

Related articles

Main partner

Premium partner, Official partner & Official supplier

join the club

Word lid van de grootste supportersfamilie van het land!


Download onze app

Mis geen enkele belangrijke update over jouw favoriete Club.


Schrijf je nu in op onze nieuwsbrief.

Schrijf je in