Sunday 15 May 2022 17:30

Club wins the championship following 1-3 win at Antwerp

Club Brugge won their 18th national title after a 1-3 victory over Antwerp. The blue and black were trailing at the break, but Vanaken, Hendry and Adamyan turned it around!

Club's starting eleven was changed in three positions compared to Wednesday's game against Union. Stanley Nsoki returned from suspension and returned in the defensive lin, at the expense of Hendry. Tajon Buchanan was sent off in the match against Union and was replaced by Andreas Skov Olsen on the right-hand side. Sargis Adamyan was given the nod as well. Denis Odoi was on the bench, which meant De Ketelaere teamed up with Balanta and Vanaken in the heart of the midfield.

Clinton Mata limped off last Wednesday, but was among the starters for this fixture.

Noa Lang
Noa Lang

The first threat of the match came from the Skov Olsen's boot when he picked out Vanaken in front of goal, but the cross was cleared at the last ditch. Antwerp absolutely wanted to avoid Club Brugge wining the championship at the Bosuil Stadium and were very physical. The home side dictated the pace of the match and created the best chances, apart from a Skov Olsen free-kick that curled wide. 

An effort from Samatta was blocked and a few minutes later the attacker saw his left-footed effort clip the outside of the far post. Twenty minutes into the game Antwerp had their goal: Samatta teed up Michael Frey who blasted home from close range.

Hans Vanaken scoorde vanop de stip
Hans Vanaken scoorde vanop de stip

Club was unable to match Antwerp's energy level and saw Mata limp off again with an injury. Hendry was his replacement. Antwerp pushed through, looking for a second goal, but an excellent Simon Mignolet kept Club in the game. First he tipped away De Laet's strike that was going to the far top corner, a few minutes later he kept Haroun from scoring from closeby and he palmed away Samatta's header. In between those on goal efforts, Nainggolan's strike went over and wide of the target.

Schreuder made one change at half-time: Denis Odoi came on for Balanta who had been booked. Club wanted to turn things around and were given a golden opportunity after three minutes when Seck hacked down Lang inside the area. Penalty for Club and Hans Vanaken fired it past Jean Butez: 1-1.

That goal was a morale boost for the blue and black. Adamyan's strike from a sharp angle was put behind by an Antwerp defender, but on that corner kick Jack Hendry headed in to give Club the lead. Barely two minutes later Club doubled the lead when Lang's corner kick was headed through by Frey towards the far post where Sargis Adamyan was unmarked and tapped in easily!

Jack Hendry kopte Club op voorsprong
Jack Hendry kopte Club op voorsprong

Club was in the drivers' seat now and the game was done and dusted. In the closing minutes of the match captain Ruud Vormer came on, but either team scored a goal or even created a good chance. It remained 1-3 which means Club celebrated an 18th title!

Champions' play-offs – Matchday 5
16.000 – Bosuilstadion
Referee: Lawrence Visser
Antwerp: Jean Butez – Abdoulaye Seck, Dinis Almeida, William Pacho – Koji Miyoshi, Pierre Dwomoh (61’ Alhassan Yusuf), Faris Haroun, Radja Nainggolan (61’ Michel-Ange Balikwisha), Ritchie De Laet (67’ Sam Vines) - Aly Mbwana Samatta, Michael Frey (67’ Benson Manuel). Coach: Brian Priske.
Club Brugge: Simon Mignolet – Clinton Mata (27’ Jack Hendry), Brandon Mechele, Stanley Nsoki – Andreas Skov Olsen, Éder Balanta (46’ Denis Odoi), Hans Vanaken, Charles De Ketelaere, Eduard Sobol – Sargis Adamyan (72’ Bas Dost), Noa Lang (86’ Ruud Vormer). Bench: Senne Lammens, Federico Ricca, Antonio Nusa, Noah Mbamba, Abakar Sylla en Cisse Sandra. Coach: Alfred Schreuder.
Yellow cards: Balanta, Dwomoh, De Laet, Lang, Seck, Odoi, Haroun.
Red cards: none
Goals: 19’ Frey (1-0), 49’ Vanaken (penalty, 1-1), 64’ Hendry (1-2), 66’ Adamyan (1-3).

Report - Steven Floin

Related articles

Main partner

Premium partner, Official partner & Official supplier

join the club

Word lid van de grootste supportersfamilie van het land!


Download onze app

Mis geen enkele belangrijke update over jouw favoriete Club.


Schrijf je nu in op onze nieuwsbrief.

Schrijf je in