Mathew Ryan voted ‘Goalkeeper of the Year’

“I feel honoured”

Mathew Ryan's personal success story continues. The Australian goalkeeper was voted 'Goalkeeper of the Year' for the second consecutive year by his 360 fellow footballers in the Jupiler Pro League. Along with the Belgian Cup and the 2015 Asian Cup, Club Brugge's Number One now can add this personal trophy on his mantle piece. AA Gent's Matz Sels and Anderlecht's Silvio Proto were the two other nominees.

"Coming to Europe and joining Club Brugge," now almost two years ago, has proven to be right choice", Mathew Ryan says with a smile. "In a short period of time I've grown as a goalkeeper and put my country and this club on the map."

"I can't deny that I'm very proud of what I've achieved so far. If so many colleagues recognize my qualities, I can't but feel very honoured. For me this is an important sign to continue on this path."

"Club Brugge and the city have quickly become my second home," Ryan concludes. "I love the club and the city. Every training session I want to push myself to the limit to become a better goalkeeper. Yes, I'm a perfectionist with the right mentality. It's my goal to give everything for my team."

Related articles